Garden in August

Despite weeks of temps in the 90s and above, some plants managed to make it through the summer.  The best is my pair of Peegee Hydrangeas.  I bought the shrubs as little sticks from a mail order place for only 99 cents!  Honestly, when they came, I thought it was a joke – a skinny twig the length of a pencil with a couple little roots on the bottom.

Peegee_hydrangea_bush
The two Peegee Hydrangeas

Peegee_mature_bloom
When they first open, the blooms are green and they whiten as they mature

Sensational, aren’t they?  And you really want something this showy to brighten the garden at the end of the growing season.  These are in the front garden next to the driveway.   They made babies three years ago that are now happily growing at my son’s house.

Right below them is this miniature shrub which insists on growing out the top no matter how often I prune it.  It is surrounded by drought-tolerant sedum and creeping thyme.

xeriscaped
My stab at xeriscaping

lavender_new
Two kinds of lavender nestle in front of the hydrangea.  I had never seen the fern-leafed one before

At the other end, I have roses that looked spectacular around Mother’s Day.  Now they are just trying to make it through the heat like the rest of us.  The real surprise is the pale blue butterfly bush.  I spotted it last fall, a tiny spray of blue in the midst of my Black-eyed Susans.  I dug out all the Susans this spring to give this little volunteer room to grow and, oh boy, did it ever.  If I don’t move it, the roses will be smothered.  This is especially annoying since my husband told me to move it last spring…..

volunteer_butterfly
A gift from the birds, I assume.  I didn’t plant it.

double_althea
Double white althea, also known as sweet bush

hibiscus
This showy dinner plate Hibiscus is perched on a scrawny little plant

The new camera does a much better job taking pictures of white flowers.  You can really see the detail.  I have lots of hibiscus in different colors but the weather was so hot, they were fading by noon most days.  Disappointing when each bloom is only open for a day.

Maybe you remember my post on the new garden last spring – https://quiltingandotherpassions.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/a-good-kind-of-tired.  I had such high hopes.  The grass got taller and the artemisia looks okay, but the rest just managed to hold on through the summer.  Sigh.

new_garden
Disappointing new garden

silvermound
Silver mound artemisia

This artemisia is at the other side of the yard.  It is about 6 years old and gets cut way back first thing in the spring.  I guess its roots were strong enough to cope with the hot dry summer.

Honestly, I did go out with the camera to show you how sad the garden looks but apparently, I wasn’t capable of taking the pictures of the really bad places.  These pictures did cheer me up.  There were more bright spots than I thought!

I hope you will be getting just the right amount of rain where you are.  Just 60 miles from us, they got terrible flooding last night while I was doing my happy dance.

Leave a Reply

