Cool dinner idea

I am not showing my age with old slang.  This is a no-cook idea for dinner.  I noticed the other day that I had two cans of Tyson chicken in the pantry.  I bought them during hurricane season last year, in case we lost power.  Happily, that never happened, so I decided I should use them before they go out of code.

Truth to tell, I have never bought this product before and was a little concerned it wouldn’t taste very good. Camouflage was called for!

Out came the emergency pack of pita pockets I keep in the freezer (about the only whole wheat bread I will willingly eat).  I got out a medium mixing bowl and in went

  • a big handful of shredded carrots
  • half a bag of salad, well chopped
  • 3 tablespoons of corn salsa from Trader Joe’s (which I had just bought and never tried)
  • 3 tablespoons of chunky tomato salsa
  • a chopped stalk of celery
  • the drained and rinsed chicken

I also added a bit of salt, pepper and crumbled basil.

I like my pita pockets warmed up and recently discovered that opening them first and tucking the back into the front of the one behind it keeps them open while warming.  I balled up a tiny piece of aluminum foil to stick in the front half so all the pieces are propped open.  The foil ball gets used over and over.

There is a very scientific way of warming them just right.  I put them on a baking sheet, stick them in the oven and turn it on to 350F.  When the beep goes off to tell me the oven is warm, they are done and I turn the oven off.  If I were feeding more than two people, I would leave the other pockets in the warmed oven while I got the first ones stuffed or I would get someone to help stuff!

Once filled, I put a little line of ranch dressing on top to simulate sour cream and served the pockets with chips.  My husband said I could serve them every day the rest of his life – which I am pretty sure is an exaggeration but I take it to mean they turned out pretty good.  That’s why I thought I would share my recipe with you.  Seems like you could serve it in a bowl with fresh hot bread, too.

(We do variations of this with the salmon and tuna that comes in packages.  I have to admit that I liked this better.  The fish is not my favorite.)

Leave a Reply

