Garden therapy

No matter what I feel like when I step into my garden or what chores I choose to do while I am there, the garden never fails to make me feel better.  There is something about the concentration of looking for weeds and bugs and faded blooms that just won’t let any other thoughts intrude.

tall_lilies
Tall lilies with pineapple sage in the foreground

I bought these lilies in a bag – $10 for 10 – the year we took down the giant willow oak.  They ground out the major part of the stump but there are still large chunks of thick roots just below the soil in many places.  It makes gardening a challenge.  I put the lilies in that first spring and a tiny bit of green came up and then died.  I was simply too busy to plant anything else.

Imagine my surprise when they shot out of the ground the next year and bloomed!  They have been growing, blooming and multiplying for the 6 years since then.  I moved some to another part of the garden where they continue to flourish.  I can’t say that orange and fuchsia is my favorite color combination, so I got a real laugh at the latest JCP catalog featuring a whole line of ladies’ dresses in just those colors!

The pineapple sage comes back year after year and is covered in small red flowers from the end of August until the frost in October or November.  Another nice surprise.  I thought it was an annual.

astilbe_hosta_campion
Astilbe, hosta, campion

  canterbury_bells
Canterbury Bells, Verbena Bonariensis stems

I was surprised to see these deep pink astilbe peeking out from below the campion yesterday.  I don’t remember planting it there.  The Canterbury Bells (I think) on the right are hard to photograph since they face down.  The square stems you see are from the Verbena Bonariensis.  You can see their purple blooms in the lily picture.

ferns_and_hosta
These ferns and hostas do great even though they get lots of sun

They promised cool weather this morning and I rushed out right after breakfast only to discover that while it wasn’t technically raining, I was getting wet!  It was kind of like I walked into the middle of a cloud.  Did I give up and go back inside where it was nice and dry?  I did not.  I am a gardener!

9 thoughts on “Garden therapy

  1. Wow! Your lilies are gorgeous. We’ve had ours for years, but the deer very much enjoy eating the buds just as they’re about to bloom, so we haven’t seen too many of the flowers.

    I’m intrigued about your pineapple sage overwintering. I just bought one for the first time this spring, and it did say it was an annual, but it’d be great if it comes back like yours. The scent is just delicious!

    • Thanks, Sharon. They are nearly as tall as I am – which I grant you isn’t saying a whole lot, but seems tall to me. We don’t have deer in our neighborhood, although people who live near the river really struggle with them. We have rabbits – and I am here to tell you, they are smaller but no less annoying.

      We are in Zone 7 – if that helps in figuring out if the pineapple sage will come back. I have other perennial sages and they come back faithfully but they have woodier stems than this.

  2. Those of us up here in Zone 4 are terribly jealous. Although the iris and catnip in my garden make a pretty contrast.

  3. You also have what is called wild geraniums in this picture. They are periennials and will come back year after year. I brought a couple of cuttings from my old house and have them in the entrance in pots.

Leave a Reply

