Short attention span

Intellectually, I know that you get more done when you set a goal and stay on task.  There are days when I can do that and days when it is only a joke.

Recently, every time I go out in the garden, I am like a two-year-old – easily distracted by bright shiny objects – or in my case, every blooming weed practically screams up at me from the grass.  Both hands can be full and I still stop to pull up weeds with blooms.  The one thing I know is that blooms make more weeds!

lady_banksia_detail   columbine1
Lady Banksia rose and Columbine are just beautiful memories now

What I have never understood is why weed seeds almost certainly take root and grow while flower seeds are prima donnas.  I have to hold my mouth just right to get them to grow where I want them.

This has led to a gardening philosophy in which I have learned to recognize the baby leaves of most of my plants and I just let those babies grow wherever they pop up.  Silly, I know, but in the past I have had Campion growing in the walkway and grape tomatoes overrunning the perennial garden.

campion1
Part of this year’s Campion

Eventually, it occurred to me that these sturdy survivors would survive being transplanted.  Still, having plants that overrun their boundaries and grow wherever nature plants them is kind of fun.

mystery_plantThe plant (right) is something I planted over a decade ago.  The sign disappeared a long time ago so I have no idea what it is.  It gets to be about 2’ tall.  The new growth starts in February and comes in almost purple, then it moves slowly to green.  When it blooms, it is covered in tiny yellow upside down umbrellas!  Do you happen to know what it is?

 verbena bonariensis
Verbena bonariensis, the wonder plant with the square stem

I adore this verbena which towers over everything else in a garden of tall flowers.  I only planted one about 5 years ago and it thrills me that they have decided they like it there after several very tentative seasons.  The clusters of tiny purple flowers wave in every passing breeze.

Last fall, I suddenly spotted a blue bloom hiding among the fading Black-eyed Susans.  It was a volunteer butterfly bush!  It was already more than 3 feet tall, although the pushy Susans had caused it to grow mostly sideways.  This one must be courtesy of the birds because I don’t have a blue butterfly bush.

First thing this spring, I was out there on my hands and knees getting rid of the pushy Susans and trimming that brave little bush into a nice shape.  It’s more than waist high now and you can expect to see pictures of it blooming in the very near future.

Short attention span has struck again.  I wandered off topic.  Oh, well, at least I was still talking about the garden.

Leave a Reply

