First tentative steps

Starting a blog has felt a bit like getting ready for my first big date.  Picking out the theme, background and pictures for the header were all harder than they ought to be.  Too bad you can’t just describe what you want it to look like and presto! gorgeous blog all ready to use.

At least while I was getting the blog dressed, I didn’t have to think about what I was going to say.  Making conversation in a vacuum isn’t as easy as you might think.

fern_frond_unfoldingMaybe it will help if I visualize a less stressful analogy.  Instead of being a sweaty-palmed teenager, let’s envision a fern, poking up through the leftover leaves of fall and tentatively unfolding its fronds to the spring sunshine.  I like that better – adventurous but not too pushy, following the natural instinct to reach out to others.

Let me introduce myself.  My name is Carol Miller.  I own and run www.QuiltUniversity.com, where I also teach quilting classes.  In my spare time, I love to garden, read and listen to music.

My husband is the IT person for Quilt University, while I maintain an uneasy truce with technology.  If it would just stand still long enough for me to learn it all, life would be wonderful, but it seems there is always an upgrade or a new camera to master when I would rather be up to my elbows in fabric or plants.

I hope you will come back and visit as I feel my way through this new world and tell me how you deal with the constant shifts in the computerized world.  Don’t they understand that change is only good when it is my idea?

6 thoughts on “First tentative steps

  1. I think your post deserves a prettier flower to start off! A tiny little blossom struggling to open her leaves and learn that the world is a kind place. What I find interesting about your post is how creativity, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder. You see it in everything that you do, from raking leaves to peeling carrots (see About section). And I am always looking for it, even when it is staring right back at me on my computer screen. I recently said to my boss that I wished I was more creative and she indicated that I might not be very self-aware. So how do the super creative people,such as yourself, define creativity to the rest of us? If you aren’t an artist, are you still considered creative?

    • Thanks – you got it right – beauty IS in the eye of the beholder. I knew I was becoming a real gardener when I grew to love plants for their foliage and not just their flashy flowers.

      The unfurling frond is a tiny leaf struggling to open its leaf. The world, however, is not always so kind. Not only we aren’t getting any rain, but the trees dropped a bumber crop of inchworms on all my plants. I was out there picking and spraying, being the plant mommy.

      In the interest of full disclosure, we should tell everyone that you are my daughter and are basing that lovely analysis of me on actual knowledge of my life and not just a couple blog paragraphs. Your last question is akin to asking why the sky is blue? There may be an answer but I am not sure I have it. Let me ponder the answer in my next post.

  2. Carol, this is your old friend Fran and I think equating your new blog to an emerging fern frond is perfect…adventurous, but not too pushy!

    In your first posting, you asked how we as individuals deal with this constantly changing technological world. My approach has been to focus only on those technological advances that allow me to pursue my passion for sewing and quilting. I simply ignore the rest. I don’t have a blog or a Facebook page and I don’t tweet. I don’t embrace advanced technology. I learn it on a need-to-know basis. As long as my equipment is working, I’m satisfied. I don’t need the latest computer, phone or electronic gadget because I would have to spend time learning how to use it. My time and efforts are better spent designing with Electric Quilt, sewing my endless stream of projects and teaching classes at QU!

    I see that your daughter has already plunged us into deep waters with her question about how artists define creativity. As a designer, I think that the highly personal and creative expression that is art is in everyone. The particular form that this expression takes depends completely upon the individual and that person’s passion for an ideal. It isn’t always obvious as art, even to the person creating it, and it can be far outside of the realm of traditional art.

    I’ll give you an example. My husband does brain research. His creativity is in the way that he thinks and tests his theories. This is not your traditional art form, but by my definition, it is art…his personal expression of his passion for scientific discovery.

    By the way, I remember that question “Why is the sky blue?” from my Philosophy 101 class long ago. There was no answer then, but maybe I’ll ponder the question again as I stitch a few blocks on my latest project….. 😉

    • HI, Fran! I agree that we are all born with creativity in us. All you have to do is watch young children to be aware of that.

      Sadly, schools can often bury that spark. It was not a mistake that I never took an art class. My untutored attempts were so embarrassing that I could imagine no worse torture than a whole class built on art. I detested when history or English teachers would want us to make a project instead of writing a report.

      I wish I could stay with my old programs and just do what I like but my work at Quilt University demands a broader mastery of my software. It’s my job to make the student pictures look the best they possibly can before putting them in the galleries.

      Thanks for posting!

  3. Carol, I enjoyed your blog, can’t wait to read more. Maybe as we age we are just more understanding. The world is changing so fast, I only hope more young people take a little time to smell the flowers and relax with something that brings our their creativity My hobbies are quilting,sewing, and relearning knitting (haven’t knitted in 40 years) But it is my relaxing part of the day.

  4. Pat, you could be right. I know women just become more accepting because we tend to have more physical problems and get used to seeing the doctor. They tell you that you need surgery and you write it on your calendar like a hairdresser’s appointment and make plans like you are throwing a dinner party. Men seem to live in denial until they are really forced to see a doctor and then it’s like they were thrown into the deep end of the pool.

    As for young people, I don’t know if they are smelling roses or not. My children both work impossible hours and that seems to be the norm. Employers want to wring every bit of energy out of them to avoid hiring more people.

    I gave up knitting and crocheting. It became too painful to hold the needles for long.

Leave a Reply

